This year's beginners are Devin Williams and Kyle Lewis

This year’s beginners are Devin Williams and Kyle Lewis

This year's beginners are Devin Williams and Kyle Lewis

Milwaukee Brewers relief Devin Williams was named National League Rookie of the Year on Monday.

This year's beginners are Devin Williams and Kyle Lewis

© Provided by The Canadian Press

In the American, the honor was given to Seattle Mariners center player Kyle Lewis.

Williams gave up just one earned run and four in total in 27 laps, for an average of 0.33.

The 26-year-old right-hander participated in 22 matches, and allowed his earned points on July 27 (a home team of Colin Moran, from Pirates).

The St. Louis native allowed just eight hits, in addition to hitting 53 strokes.

Brewers’ second-round pick in 2013, he is the team’s first player to receive the honor since Ryan Braun in 2007.

Williams was preferred over second baseman Jake Cronenworth of the San Diego Padres and player Alec Bohm of the Philadelphia Phillies.

Cronenworth hit .285 in 54 appearances, helping Padres reach the playoffs for the first time since 2006.

Bohm, the third overall pick in 2018, hit .338 in 44 games. He has four home runs and 23 RBIs.

Lewis made 58 appearances, giving 11 long balls and 28 RBIs.

The 25-year-old from the Atlanta area hit him for .262.

The other competitors were starting pitcher Cristian Javier from the Houston Astros and midfielder Luis Robert from the Chicago White Sox.

Baseball Writers’ Association of America announces its election as leader of the year on Tuesday.

On Wednesday we will find out who gets Cy Young in each league; On Thursday we will learn who are the most useful players.

– By Jay Cohen, Associated Press

The Canadian Press

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top