The Baseball Hall of Fame will hold an induction ceremony for full capacity

The Baseball Hall of Fame will hold an induction ceremony for full capacity

COOPERSTOWN, NY – The Baseball Hall of Fame’s induction ceremony returns to its standard seating format, opening the door to another large crowd.

Hall of Fame officials said Monday that tickets will not be required for the event’s free seating area for the lawn. The ceremony is scheduled for Sept. 8 on the basis of the Clark Sports Center and will honor Class 2020 members Derek Jeter, Marvin Miller, Ted Simmons and Larry Walker. No one was elected this year.

Induction has been held outside the center since 1992, and the largest amount was estimated at 70,000 for Cal Ripken Jr. and Tony Gwynn in 2007. The second largest audience on record – an estimated 55,000 people – attended the last induction ceremony, in July 2019. The crowds have surpassed 50,000 in five of the last six ceremonies, from 2014-2019. Last year was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The Hall of Fame’s annual awards ceremony remains an indoor, only televised event on July 24. Al Michaels (2021) and former White Sox broadcaster Ken “Hawk” Harrelson (2020) will receive the Ford C. Frick Broadcasting Award. , Dick Kaegel (2021) and Nick Cafardo (2020) will receive the Baseball Writers’ Association of America Career Excellence Award, and David Montgomery will receive the Buck O’Neil Lifetime Achievement Award from last year.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top