South Wolverines ends Wasilla's reign in Division I upper secondary baseball

South Wolverines ends Wasilla’s reign in Division I upper secondary baseball

The Wasilla Warriors’ extended reign in high school baseball is over.

South Wolverines walloped Wasilla 10-0 on Thursday in the opening round of the high school baseball championship at Mulcahy Stadium, ending Wasilla’s hopes of repeating himself as head of state.

The Warriors won the state tournament in 2019, and without any tournament last year due to COVID-19, their reign as head of state lasted almost two years.

South sent them with stingy pitching and plenty of punches to join Colony and Eagle River in Friday’s semifinals. The fourth semi-final place is filled by the winner of Thursday’s late match between Dimond and Juneau.

Three Wolverines pitches combined for a one-hit against Wasilla, an attempt that started with four hitless innings from starter Isaac Johnson. Reece Ivanoff and Luke Ivanoff beat the last two innings, with Reece Ivanoff allowing Wasilla’s lone hit. The trio combined four strikes and two trips.

On the plate, South collected 12 hits. Maddux Soland was 3-for-4 to lead.

In other games, Colony pitcher Evan Walker struck out seven and allowed two hits in a 6-2 complete victory over Chugiak, and Josh Thompson scored three times and Cam Witte and Connor Lanehart each ran in two races to spark Eagle River’s 12-1 victory over Sitka.

In the Division II state tournament at Wasilla High, North Pole, Kodiak and Soldotna posted victory in the first round to advance to Friday’s semifinals. Palmer and Grace Christian enter the game late.

Championship games in both tournaments are scheduled for 3pm on Saturday.

ASAA / First National Bank baseball state championship

Division I at Mulcahy Stadium

10 am (taper out) – Sitka vs. Chugiak

13.00 (loses out) – Wasilla vs. Dimond-Juneau taper

16.00 (semifinal) – Colony vs. Eagle River

19.00 (semifinal) – Sør vs. Dimond-Juneau winner

Division II at Wasilla High

Nordpol 4, Petersburg 0

Palmer vs. Grace Christian, sen

10 am (loses out) – Homer vs. Petersburg

1pm (loses out) – Monroe vs. Palmer-Grace Christian Loser

16.00 (semifinal) – Kodiak vs Nordpolen

19.00 (semifinal) – Soldotna vs. Palmer-Grace Christian winner

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top