Longtime Royals writer Dick Kaegel wins the JG Taylor Spink Award for baseball writing

By the Associated Press
| Sensor

NEW YORK – Dick Kaegel, who covered the St. Louis Cardinals and Kansas City Royals and edited The Sporting News over a career of more than 53 years, has won the Hall of Fame’s JG Taylor Spink Award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing. He will be honored during the induction weekend from July 23 to 26 in Cooperstown, New York.

Kaegel will receive the Spink Award along with the late Nick Cafardo from The Boston Globe during a double ceremony on July 24. Cafardo was the 2020 winner of Spink, and the 2020 inductions were postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Derek Jeter and Larry Walker will be introduced on July 25, along with any players selected in this year’s poll by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, which will be announced in January. 26.

Kaegel received 183 of 374 ballot papers in the poll announced Tuesday in the annual election of authors who have been BBWAA members for ten or more years in a row.

Marty Noble from Newsday in New York and The Record in New Jersey received 115 votes. Baseball America founder Allan Simpson turned 73.

Kaegel, 81, wrote for the Granite City Press-Record in Illinois in 1964 and spent 12 years covering the Cardinals of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and more than two decades covering the Royals for The Kansas City Star. He edited The Sporting News from 1979-85 and spent more than two decades covering the Royals for MLB.com. He covered all 162 matches in 2011, four years after a liver transplant.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top