MLB Roberto Clemente Award Winners

The Roberto Clemente Award is given annually to the Major League Baseball (MLB) player who “best exemplifies the game of baseball, sportsmanship, community involvement and the individual’s contribution to his team”, as voted on by baseball fans and members of the media. It is named for Hall of Fame outfielder Roberto Clemente. Originally known as the Commissioner’s Award, it has been presented by the MLB since 1971. In 1973, the award was renamed after Clemente following his death in a plane crash while delivering supplies to victims of the Nicaragua earthquake.

2012Clayton KershawLos Angeles Dodgers
2011David OrtizBoston Red Sox
2010Tim WakefieldBoston Red Sox
2009Derek JeterNew York Yankees
2008Albert Pujols St. Louis Cardinals
2007Craig BiggioHouston Astros
2006Carlos DelgadoNew York Mets
2005John SmoltzAtlanta Braves
2004Edgar MartinezSeattle Mariners
2003Jamie MoyerSeattle Mariners
2002Jim ThomeCleveland Indians
2001Curt SchillingArizona Diamondbacks
2000Al LeiterNew York Mets
1999Tony GwynnSan Diego Padres
1998Sammy SosaChicago Cubs
1997Eric DavisBaltimore Orioles
1996Kirby PuckettMinnesota Twins
1995Ozzie SmithSt. Louis Cardinals
1994Dave Winfield Minnesota Twins
1993Barry LarkinCincinnati Reds
1992Cal Ripken Jr. Baltimore Orioles
1991Harold ReynoldsSeattle Mariners
1990Dave StewartOakland Athletics
1989Gary CarterNew York Mets
1988Dale MurphyAtlanta Braves
1987Rick SutcliffeChicago Cubs
1986Garry Maddox Philadelphia Phillies
1985Don Baylor New York Yankees
1984Ron GuidryNew York Yankeex
1983Cecil Cooper Milwaukee Brewers
1982Ken Singleton Baltimore Orioles
1981Steve GarveyLos Angeles Dodgers
1980Phil NiekroAtlanta Braves
1979Andre ThorntonCleveland Indians
1978Greg LuzinskiPhiladelphia Phillies
1977Rod CarewMinnesota Twins
1976Pete RoseCincinnati Reds
1975Lou BrockSt. Louis Cardinals
1974Willie StargellPittsburgh Pirates
1973Al KalineDetroit Tigers
1972Brooks RobinsonBaltimore Orioles
1971Willie MaysSan Francisco Giants