Seahawks award QB Russell Wilson

Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson is the 2012 Steve Largent Award recipient. Given to the player who best exemplifies the spirit, dedication and integrity of the Seahawks and voted on by the players, the award is named after the Seattle Seahawks Hall of Fame wide receiver Steve Largent, the first winner of the honor in 1989.

Wilson has led Seattle to an undefeated home record of 7-0, making him the first rookie quarterback to start and win each of his team’s first seven home games since the 1970 merger. He is just two touchdown passes away from breaking the NFL’s rookie record and has run for more yards than any quarterback in Seahawks history. Wilson was the 75th pick overall in the third round of the 2012 NFL Draft.

Wilson serves as National Ambassador for the CR3 Diabetes Association, Inc., a non-profit organization that provides life saving diabetes supplies to those in need. He has set aside time each week to visit Seattle Children’s Hospital throughout the season, partnered with Verizon Wireless to encourage Seattle high school students to take a pledge against texting and driving and has been active with the Seahawks Rookie Club and their community outreach including visits to a teen shelter and the Matt Talbot Center.

A complete list of Steve Largent Award winners is listed below.

1989                       WR Steve Largent

1990                       DE Jacob Green

1991                       LB Rufus Porter

1992                       DE Jeff Bryant and DT Joe Nash

1993                       FS Eugene Robinson

1994                       WR Brian Blades

1995                       LB Terry Wooden

1996                       DT Cortez Kennedy

1997                       LB Winston Moss

1998                       DE Michael Sinclair

1999                       LB Chad Brown

2000                       RB Ricky Watters

2001                       FB Mack Strong

2002                       FB Mack Strong

2003                       QB Trent Dilfer

2004                       FB Mack Strong

2005                       FB Mack Strong

2006                       FB Mack Strong

2007                       WR Bobby Engram

2008                       Head Coach Mike Holmgren

2009                       QB Matt Hasselbeck

2010                       CB Roy Lewis

2011                       DT Red Bryant

2012                       QB Russell Wilson

The Good in Sports congratulates Wilson for this great honor.

We hope you enjoy our positive, uplifting sports news and content.  We would love for you to follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook, as we highlight athletes, coaches and teams being role models in our communities!


Your thoughts or comments?