Clemente award nominees

Each year every team in Major League Baseball nominates one of their players for the “Roberto Clemente Award”.  This prestigious award is named for right fielder Roberto Clemente and recognizes players for their work in the community.

The Hall of Famer played for the Pittsburgh Pirates and had his life cut short on December 31, 1972 in a plane crash while delivering supplies to help earthquake victims in his native country of Nicaragua.

Yesterday, Major League Baseball announced this year’s nominees.

Arizona Diamondbacks – Willie Bloomquist
Atlanta Braves – Tim Hudson
Baltimore Orioles – Jim Johnson
Boston Red Sox – Jon Lester
Chicago Cubs – David DeJesus
Chicago White Sox – Jake Peavy
Cincinnati Reds – Todd Frazier
Cleveland Indians – Jason Kipnis
Colorado Rockies – Michael Cuddyer
Detroit Tigers – Miguel Cabrera
Houston Astros – Wesley Wright
Kansas City Royals – Alex Gordon
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim – C.J. Wilson
Los Angeles Dodgers – Clayton Kershaw
Miami Marlins – Logan Morrison
Milwaukee Brewers – Rickie Weeks
Minnesota Twins – Justin Morneau
New York Mets – Johan Santana
New York Yankees – Mark Teixeira
Oakland Athletics – Brandon McCarthy
Philadelphia Phillies – Jimmy Rollins
Pittsburgh Pirates – Chris Resop
St. Louis Cardinals – Matt Holliday
San Diego Padres – Luke Gregerson
San Francisco Giants – Matt Cain
Seattle Mariners – Felix Hernandez
Tampa Bay Rays – David Price
Texas Rangers – Michael Young
Toronto Blue Jays – Ricky Romero
Washington Nationals – Ryan Zimmerman

The winner of the “Roberto Clemente Award” will be announced during the World Series.  David Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox won the award last year.

The Good in Sports thanks each of these men for their contributions on and off the field.

We hope you enjoy our positive, uplifting sports news and content.  We would love for you to follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook, as we highlight athletes, coaches and teams being role models in our communities!

Your thoughts or comments?